Young Historian Awards 2018 – Winners

Young Historian Awards

Published 29th August 2018

Each year the Historical Association partners with the Spirit of Normandy Trust to award young historians who have shown excellent knowledge and demonstrated historical argument around a subject associated with a series of themes. The competition is divided into age brackets and the entry at secondary level is by essay judged by a team of independent educators and experts. The entry at Primary level can be by school and group project.

We are happy to announce that the 2018 winners are:

  • Spirit of Normandy Trust: Emily Leeming [Langley School, Loddon, Norfolk] and Jelin Fernadez [St Bede’s and St Joseph’s Catholic College, Bradford]
  • World War One: Lewis Mclellan [British International School, Istanbul] and Lucy Hollerer [St Bede’s and St Joseph’s Catholic College, Bradford]
  • Modern Studies: Laura Bawden [King’s High School, Warwick], Esmae Badcock [Trent College, Long Eaton] and Ellie Livingstone [Perins Community School, New Alresford]
  • Local History: Cameron Millar [Dollar Academy, Scotland]
  • Primary Ancient Civilisations: Max Ikari [Falcon School for Boys, Twickenham]
  • School History Magazine: Bolton School: Boys Division and Stockport Grammar School