Medlicott Medal


Last updated: 16th August 2016

Outstanding services to history

Our annual award the Medlicott Medal is awarded to individuals for outstanding services and current contributions to history.

The Medlicott winner is notified in advance of their win so that they can give a talk. The Historical Association's annual event is becoming a must for local, educational and academic historians.

Past winners include: 

2016 Antony Beevor - see our interview with Anthony here or listen to his acceptance speech...

2015 Margaret MacMillansee our interview with Margaret here…

2014 Richard Evanslisten to Richard’s Medlicott lecture here…

2013 David Cannadinewatch our interview with David here…

2012 Bettany Hughes

2011 Michael Wood

2010 Peter Hennessy

2009 Melvyn Bragg

2008 Gordon Batho

2007 Chris Culpin

2006 Lisa Jardine

2005 Martin Gilbert

2004 Ian Kershaw

2003 Keith Thomas

2002 Simon Schama

2001 David Starkey

2000 Antonia Fraser

1999 Eric Hobsbawm

1998 Patrick Collinson

1997 Roy Jenkins

1996 Irene Collins

1995 John West

1994 R. R. Davies

1993 Marjorie Reeves

1992 Lord Bullock

1991 Neil Cossons

1990 John Fines

1989 Magnus Magnusson

1988 Ragnhild Hatton

1987 Frederick George Emmison

1986 H. R. Loyn

1985 A. G. Dickens