The HA honours Bettany Hughes for services to History

Published: 13th February 2012

Medlicot Medal 2012 

The Historical Association is awarding the annual prestigious award for service to History to the academic and broadcaster Bettany Hughes. The HA is the main organisation for the study and representation of history outside of academic bodies. Founded in 1906 it is an independent charity incorporated by Royal Charter with members and branches across the UK and the world representing the national voice for history.

The award known as the Norton Medlicott award after a senior past-President of the Historical Association, Professor William Norton Medlicott, has been going for over twenty-five years. It is awarded by the HA to those who have shown dedication and commitment to history through publication, passion, production and education.

"Bettany Hughes is an outstanding communicator of history, whether on paper, radio or television. Her work is highly scholarly yet accessible to large audiences.  Her energy and her enthusiasm for her topics come through. The Awarding Panel felt Bettany was an ideal candidate for the 2012 Norton Medlicott Medal for Services to History."  Professor Chris Wrigely, Past President of the HA

Her first book, Helen of Troy: Goddess, Princess, Whore (Jonathan Cape, 2005), has been an international success. So far it has been translated into ten languages. Her second book The Hemlock Cup has been shortlisted for this year's Writer's Guild Award, was selected as the notable non-fiction book of 2011 by the Washington Post and was a New York Times bestseller. In 2010 Bettany was given the Naomi Sargent award for Broadcast Excellence. Her TV programmes have now been seen by over 100 million worldwide.

The award ceremony will take place on 3 July 2012 at Senate House, London, where as recipient Bettany Hughes will give a keynote talk.

Past winners of the award have included Dr. David Starkey, Lady Antonia Fraser, Professor Simon Schama, Professor Lisa Jardine, Lord Bragg, Michael Wood and Eric Hobsbawm.