The Umayyad Caliphate

Medieval World History

By Professor Gerald Hawting, published 11th August 2015

An Expanding Islamic Empire

In this set of podcasts Emeritus Professor Gerald Hawting of SOAS, University of London provides an introduction to the Umayyad (661-750) Caliphate.

1. The Caliphate.
2. The Umayyad Caliphs.
3. Damascus.
4. Historiography, Muawiyah and the emergence of Shiah Islam.
5. The Sunnis.
6. The spread of Islam & Arabic.
7. Understanding the evidence.
8. Abd al-Malik & the emergence of a distinctly Islamic state.
9. The Umayyad period a continuation of earlier developments.

In order to access the full content of the podcasts please Login or Join the HA.