Young Historian Awards 2010 Winners!

Published 29th August 2010

This initiative has been celebrating the achievements of young historians in schools for over twenty years. It is largely funded by the Historical Association and the Spirit of Normandy Trust. It has an annual award scheme and also funds some special events, such as the annual Young Historian Day at Tutbury Castle in Staffordshire. The Young Historian Project seeks to encourage young people to be historians and to encourage their teachers in this great endeavour. 



Spirit of Normandy Trust

Stephenson Way Community Primary School, Newton Aycliffe, Co. Durham

Local History

Petersfield CE Primary School, Orwell, Nr Royston, Hertfordshire

Key Stage 3

Spirit of Normandy Trust

Amber Pullen        Framlingham College, Suffolk

World War One

Abigail Fleming   The Park Community School, Barnstaple, Devon

Hannah Higgins    Tendring Technology College, Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex

Local History

Lucy Dwyer          St Ursula's Convent School, Greenwich

GCSE Level

Local History

Hannah Rippin      Andrew Marvell Business and Enterprise College, Hull

Modern World

James Keal        Andrew Marvell Business and Enterprise College, Hull


Spirit of Normandy Trust

Alison Ogden         St Ninian's High School, Douglas, IOM

Local History

Sam Pearce             Wilson's School, Wallington, Surrey

School History Magazine

Stonyhurst College, Clitheroe, Lancashire