Young Historian Awards 2019 – Winners

Annual competition, HA and The Spirit of Normandy Trust

Published: 16th September 2019

Each year the Historical Association partners with The Spirit of Normandy Trust to award young historians who have shown excellent knowledge and demonstrated historical argument around a subject associated with a series of themes. The competition is divided into age brackets and the entry at secondary level is by essay judged by a team of independent educators and experts. The entry at Primary level can be by school and group project.

We are happy to announce that the 2019 winners are:

  • Spirit of Normandy Trust Senior
    Elizabeth Lotery, King Edward VI School, Southampton

  • Spirit of Normandy Trust Key Stage 3
    Arwen Kennedy, Dollar Academy, Scotland

  • Spirit of Normandy Trust Primary
    William Huckle, St George’s International School, Luxembourg

  • World War One – Key Stage 3
    Max and Josh Kamalarajah, Wallace High School, Antrim, Northern Ireland
    Mariam Asim, Abbey School, Reading
    Miranda Sampson-Hudson, Abbey School, Reading

  • World War One – GCSE level
    Reuben Bond, Kirkham Grammar School, Lancashire

  • Local History – Key Stage 3
    Lauren Rae, Dollar Academy, Scotland

  • Local History – GCSE Level
    Aaron Gillett, Wilson’s School, Wallington, Surrey

  • Modern World Studies – GCSE level
    Daisy Zhou, Concord College, Shropshire

  • Best School History Magazine
    St Albans School
    Stockport Grammar School