Beckenham & Bromley Branch Programme


Beckenham & Bromley Branch Programme 2019-20

Mrs Ann Wagstaff (Programme Secretary): aj60@dial.pipex.com

All meetings are held in Christ Church Hall Beckenham, Fairfield Road, off Beckenham High Street BR3 3LE, on Thursdays at 8.00pm unless otherwise stated. Coffee and tea will be served from 7.45pm.

Website: http://beckenham-historical-association.org/

 

Thursday 19 September 2019
Annual General Meeting at 7.30pm, followed by
'Charlemagne'
Speaker: Professor Janet Nelson

Thursday 10 October 2019
'The Making of Martin Luther'
Speaker: Professor Richard Rex

Wednesday 16 October 2019, 11.00am
Visit to John Wesley's House
Limited numbers
Bookings by Wednesday 2 October 2019

Thursday 21 November 2019
'Whose Heritage? Imperial Trophies and National Treasures from the Elgin Marbles to the Benin Bronzes'
Speaker: Professor Anthony Stockwell

Friday 29 November 2019, 11.00am
Visit to the Cinema Museum
Limited numbers
Bookings by Friday 15 November 2019

Thursday 5 December 2019
'Artists' London'
Speaker: Mireille Galinou
The evening will begin with light Christmas refreshments

Thursday 9 January 2020
'Cleopatra'
Speaker: Lucy Hughes-Hallett

Thursday 6 February 2020, 7.00pm
Fish and Chips Supper, followed by
'Music Hall/World War I Songs'
Beckenham Youth Voices, directed by Mr John Webber
Supper bookings by Thursday 30 January 2020

Monday 17 February 2020, 11.00am
Visit to Tallow Chandlers' Hall
Limited numbers
Bookings by Friday 31 January 2020

Thursday 19 March 2020
'The Plague: 4000 BC to 2000 AD'
Speaker: Dr Tim Mason
This meeting is part of British Science Week 2020

Wednesday 1 April 2020, 10.30am
Visit to the Webb Estate
Limited numbers
Bookings by Friday 13 March 2020

Thursday 23 April 2020
'Henry VII and His Court'
Speaker: Professor Steven Gunn

Thursday 30 April 2020, 7.00pm for 7.30pm
Annual Dinner
Venue to be confirmed
Limited numbers
Bookings by Thursday 26 March 2020

Thursday 7 May 2020
'Joining the Dots on a World Cruise: The Story of the Entangled Lives of Colonel William Light and the Duke of Wellington'
Speaker: Mr Peter Longley 

Saturday 23 May 2020, 8.15am
All-Day Coach Outing to Southsea and Portsmouth
Visits to the D-Day Storry and the Mary Rose Exhibitions
Limited numbers
Bookings by Saturday 25 April 2020

Thursday 11 June 2020
'The History of the Regent's Canal'
Speaker: Dr Roger Squires

Saturday 13 June 2020, 11.00am
'Midsummer London Walk'
A Stroll in Clerkenwell: Including St. John's Gate
Led by Kate Boyle

August 2020
Visit to the Savill Gardens and Frogmore House
Date to be confirmed