Beckenham & Bromley Branch Programme

Branch Programme

By Ann Wagstaff

PROGRAMME 2018 - 2019

All meetings take place at 8.00 p.m. in Christ Church Hall, Fairfield Road, Beckenham,

BR3 3LE unless otherwise stated. Tea and coffee is served from 7.45 p.m.

There is a public car park nearby. For public transport routes and a local map, please see the branch website www.beckenham-historical-association.org/

Entry to meetings is free for HA members and £2 for visitors.

Associate membership of the branch is £14 per year.

For any further information please email aj60@dial.pipex.com

2018

Thursday 20 September at 7.30 p.m.                               

Annual General Meeting

followed at 8.00 p.m. by                       

Dr. Michael Jones

The Black Prince: Hero or Villain?                         

                                  

Thursday 11 October: Presidential Lecture                       

Professor Anthony Badger

Presidential First Hundred Days from FDR to Trump

 

Friday 19 October at 11.00 a.m.                                                 

Visit to The Linnean Society of London

Numbers limited:  Pre-booking essential

               

Thursday 15 November at 7.00 p.m.               

Fish and Chip Supper                                     

followed by

BFI Film on Tour: Coast and Sea

Pre-booking for supper essential

 

Wednesday 28 November at 11.00 a.m.                                                                          

Visit to the College of Optometrists

Numbers Limited: Pre-booking essential

                               

Thursday 6 December                   

Mr. Brian Freeland

Richelieu: The Cardinal and His ‘City’

The evening will begin with light Christmas refreshments

                               

2019

Thursday 17 January                      

Professor John Gillingham

William II: The Red King

 

Monday 18 February at 11.00 a.m.

Visit to the Middle Temple Hall

Pre-booking essential

 

Thursday 21 February

Dr. Agnes Grunwald-Spier

The Holocaust in Hungary: One Woman’s Story

 

Thursday 14 March                         

Ms Paula Kitching

Title to be Confirmed

(This meeting is part of British Science Week 2019)

 

Monday 8 April at 3.00 p.m.

Visit to Stationers’ Hall

Pre-booking essential   

 

Thursday 11 April                            

Dr. James Ross

Henry VI and the Origins of the Wars of the Roses

 

Thursday 25 April at 7.00 for 7.30 p.m.            

Annual Dinner

at Zi Teresa Restaurant, Beckenham

Pre-booking essential

 

Thursday 9 May

Professor Peter Enser

Transports of Delight:  The Passenger Experience of Yesteryear

 

Saturday 11 May at 11.00 a.m.                                                             

Spring London Walk

A Stroll in Royal Greenwich

Led by Kate Boyle

 

Thursday 13 June                            

Professor John Coffey

The Secret Diaries of William Wilberforce

 

Saturday 15 June at 8.45 a.m.

All Day Coach Outing to Rochester: Cathedral and Dickens’ Day

Pre-booking essential