Sheffield Branch Programme

By Pamela Carlson

Sheffield Branch Programme 2019-20

The cost of associate membership of the branch is £15.00 per year and £5.00 for a single meeting. For any further information please contact Mrs Pamela Carlson, branch secretary: pamcarlson@virginmedia.com or 0114 255 1445.

All lectures take place at 7.30pm in the Lecture Theatre, The Grayson Building, Birkdale School, Oakholme Road, Sheffield S10 3DH (enter by the Ashdell Road entrance) unless otherwise stated.

Thursday 10 October 2019
'"You Had to be There": Laughter in 18th Century Britain'
Speaker: Dr Kate Davison (Sheffield University)
Preceded by the Branch Annual General Meeting

Saturday 12 to Sunday 13 October 2019
Two-Day Visit to the Castles of Northern Wales

Thursday 24 October 2019, 5.00pm
Sheffield Heat of the Great Debate for Sixth Form Students

Thursday 14 November 2019
'1956: The World in Revolt'
Speaker: Professor Simon Hall (Leeds University)

Saturday 16 November 2019
Heritage Canal Trip

Thursday 5 December 2019, 7.00pm for 7.30pm
Branch Dinner
Royal Victoria Hotel

Thursday 12 December 2019, 7.30pm
'The Visual and Material Culture of British Radicalism 1760-1848'
Speaker: Dr Matthew Roberts (Sheffield Hallam University)

Thursday 9 January 2020, 7.30pm
'The Reign of Henry VII: The End of the Middle Ages or the Dawn of Early Modernity?'
Speaker: Dr Eliza Hartrich (University of East Anglia)

Saturday 18/Sunday 19 January 2020
Sheffield Heritage Fair

Thursday 13 February 2020, 7.30pm
'Napoleon: His Empire and Our Europe'
Speaker: Professor Michael Broers (Oxford University)

Thursday 12 March 2020, 7.30pm
'Women and Gender in the Medieval Islamic World'
Speaker: Dr Nicola Clarke (Newcastle University)

Saturday 21 March 2020
Day Visit to Chester

Thursday 2 April 2020, 7.30pm
'England & the World at the Time of the "Mayflower" Voyage in 1620'
Speaker: Dr Thomas Leng (Sheffield University)

Saturday 25 April 2020
Visit to the Historic Bowls Club & Snooker Halls of Sheffield

Thursday 14 May 2020, 7.30pm
'Cartimandua, Stanwick, and the Brigantes: New Archaeological Perspectives'
Speaker: Professor Colin Haselgrove (Leicester University)

Friday 29 to Sunday 31 2020
Three-Day Visit to Edinburgh

Saturday 20 June 2020
Rivelin Valley Walk

Saturday 4 July 2020, 12.00pm for 12.30pm
President's Lunch