International Baccalaureate

International Baccalaureate

By Author: Barbara Hibbert. Web Editor: Simon Brown, published 13th October 2010

Students taking the International Baccalaureate have to study subjects from six groups, including maths, literature, science and a foreign language.  Three subjects are taken at Standard Level (SL) and three at Higher Level (HL).   There are two exam sessions a year - in November for the southern hemisphere and May for the northern hemisphere.  The IB is a linear exam taken at the end of two years of study, and individual exams cannot be retaken.

This resource is FREE for Student HA Members.

HA Members can sign in to access this content or you can Join the HA if you are not already a member.

  • Introduction
  • Route 1: History of Europe and the Islamic world
  • Route 2: 20th century world history
  • Assessment
  • The Internal Assessment
  • The Extended Essay