Agincourt 600

2016 Teacher Fellowship Programme

By Maheema Chanrai

The inaugural Teacher Fellowship Programme was launched through funding provided by Agincourt 600 with the aim of providing rigorous, subject knowledge-focused professional development for teachers. It was led by Ian Dawson with a focus on the fifteenth century and late Middle Ages.

The programme began with a two-day residential in January with input from historians Anne Curry, Michael Hicks and Dan Spencer. The teachers then took part in an eight-week online course, followed by a one-day resources and approaches workshop in April. The teachers from this programme are in the process of applying their learning from the course to develop a selection of resources about the later Middle Ages for use by other teachers.

The following teachers were selected to participate in the 2016 Teacher Fellowship Programme:

  • Emma Chester – Astley Community High School, Northumberland
  • Gavin Sheffield – The Sixth Form College Farnborough, Hampshire
  • Helen Snelson – The Mount School, York
  • Jack Savage – St Bede's Catholic School & Sixth Form, Co. Durham
  • Jane Pearson –  Beaumont School, St Albans
  • Jonathan Cripps – Callington Community College, Cornwall
  • Kirstie Murray – Saffron Walden County High School, Essex
  • Louisa Dunn – Westcliff High School for Girls, Essex
  • Mike Tyler – Danelaw Centre for Living History, York
  • Natalie Richardson – English Martyrs Catholic School & Sixth Form, Hartlepool
  • Nik Caldwell – Polesworth School, Warwickshire
  • Rachel Brown – Woodroffe School, Dorset
  • Robert Orr – Tudor Grange Academy, Solihull
  • Tim Frankland – William de Ferrers School, Essex

You can download outlines of the course content from the residential and online unit below.

Attached files: